To strengthen and promote cities as centers of opportunity, leadership, and governance.



1301 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. Washington, DC 20004-1763 202-626-3000 Fax: 202-626-3043

www.nlc.org

of Cities

#### 2005 Officers

President Anthony A. Williams Mayor Washington, DC

First Vice President James C. Hunt Councilman Clarksburg, West Virginia

Second Vice President
Bart Peterson
Mayor
Indianapolis, Indiana

Immediate Past President Charles Lyons Selectman Arlington, Massachusetts

> Executive Director Donald J. Borut

## RECEIVED

August 18, 2005

705 AUG 26 A9:39

#### **MEMORANDUM**

TO:

CITY CLERK
City Clerks of Direct Member CitesCITY OF PASADENA

FROM:

Donald J. Borut, Executive Director

SUBJECT: Congress of Cities Voting and Alternate Voting Delegates

The National League of Cities' **Annual Business Meeting** will be held on Saturday, December 10, 2005, at the Congress of Cities in Charlotte, North Carolina. As a direct member city, your elected officials are entitled to vote at the Annual Business Meeting. Based on the population of the city, each member city casts between one to twenty votes. The number of votes each city is allowed can be found on the table on the reverse side of this memorandum.

To be eligible to cast a city's vote(s), each voting delegate and alternate must be officially designated by the city using the attached credentials form. This form will be forwarded to NLC's Credentials Committee. NLC Bylaws expressly prohibit voting by proxy. The voting delegate must pick up his/her voting credentials BEFORE the Annual Business Meeting and must be present at the Annual Business Meeting to cast the city's vote(s).

Your city elected officials should be made aware of this request so that decisions can be made on who will be the voting delegate and alternate at NLC's Annual Business Meeting. Before the Congress of Cities, please consult the NLC website at <a href="https://www.nlc.org">www.nlc.org</a> for information summarizing the proposed *National Municipal Policy* amendments and resolutions that are to be voted on at the Annual Business Meeting. This information should be shared with your voting delegates.

We ask that you return the completed form to NLC on or before **Thursday**, **October 13**, **2005**. Please follow the instructions on the card for filling out the form and make a copy for your own files. A pre-addressed envelope is attached for your convenience. If you have any questions or concerns, contact Katherine Bates at <a href="mailto:bates@nlc.org">bates@nlc.org</a> or (202) 626-3176.

Past Presidents: Karen Anderson, Mayor, Minnetonka, Minnesota • Clarence E. Anthony, Mayor, South Bay, Florida • John DeStefano, Jr., Mayor, New Haven, Connecticut • William H. Hudnut, III, Mayor, Town of Chevy Chase, Maryland • Sharpe James, Mayor, Newark, New Jersey • Brian J. D'Neill, Councilman, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania • Directors: Lorrariae Anderson, Councilmember, Arvada, Colorado • Tommy Baker, Alderman, Oscoela, Arkansas • Vickie Barnett, Mayor, Farmigton, Michigan • Phil Bazemore, Mayor Pro Tem, Monroe, North Carolina • Daniel Beardsley, Jr., Executive Director, Rost Bazemore, Mayor Pro Tem, Monroe, North Carolina • Daniel Beardsley, Jr., Executive Director, Rost Bazemore, Mayor Pro Tem, Monroe, North Carolina • Daniel Beardsley, Jr., Executive Director, Rost Bazemore, Mayor Pro Tem, Moroe, Council Chair, South Burlington, Vermont • Lisa Dooley, Executive Director, West Virginia Municipal League • Clay Ford, Jr., Mayor Pro Tem, Gulf Breeze, Florida • Eddy Ford, Mayor, Farragut, Tennessee • Danny George, Executive Director, Oklahoma Municipal League, Inc.,

Matthew Greller, Executive Director, Indiana Association of Cities and Towns • Ken Harward, Executive Director, Association of Idaho Cities • Lester Heitke, Mayor, Willmar, Minnesola • Jim Higdon, Executive Director, Georgia Municipal Association • Ruth Hopkins, Councilmember, Prairie Village, Kansas • Ted Jennings, Mayor, Brewton, Alabama • Ronald Loveridge, Mayor, Riverside, California • Joseph Maestas, Councilmember, Mayor, Medford, Massachusetts • James Mitchell, Jr., Council Member, Charlotte, North Carolina • Joe Moore, Alderman, Chicago, Illinois • Ed Oakley, Councilmember, Ballas, Texas • Margaret Peterson, Councilmember & Large, West Valley City, Utah • Duttie Reeder, Mayor, Seminole, Florida • Terry Riley, Council Member, Kansas City, Missouri • John Russo, City Atorney, Oakland, California • Ron Schmitt, Council Member, Sparks, Nevada • Doug Scott, Mayor, Rockford, Illinois • Liberato Silva, Vice Mayor, Flagstaff, Arizona • Shep Stahel,

Recycled Pape

#### NATIONAL LEAGUE OF CITIES

### 2005 CONGRESS OF CITIES CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA

# Number of Votes – Annual Business Meeting Direct Member Cities

Article IV, Section 2 of NLC's Bylaws specifies the number of votes that each direct member city of the National League of Cities is entitled to cast at the Annual Business Meeting at the Congress of Cities. All member cities are required by the Bylaws to cast unanimous votes

CITY POPULATION (per 2000 Census)	NUMBER OF VOTES
Under 50,000	1 vote
50,000 – 99,999	2 votes
100,000 – 199,999	4 votes
200,000 – 299,999	6 votes
300,000 – 399,999	8 votes
400,000 – 499,999	10 votes
500,000 – 599,999	12 votes
600,000 – 699,999	14 votes
700,000 – 799,999	16 votes
800,000 – 899,999	18 votes
900,000 and above	20 votes